How to removed linked blogs from wordpress.com

WordPress.com is a most wonderful gift to humanity, powering thousands and maybe millions of blogs and websites for everyday people along with some VIPs too.

One thing that’s a bonus feature in the WordPress admin is to link self-hosted (powered by WordPress.org) blogs to the global dashboard at wordpress.com for all blogs, both the ones at wordpress.com and self-hosted ones, under a section currently known as Linked Blogs. And having one dashboard for all your blogs is nice to view stats and to do other admin things in one place.

A little background for those that like context: how blogs get added to the “Linked Blogs” section of the global dashboard is using the JetPack plugin from the self-hosted blog/site’s admin, and your blog/site gets linked when you click on the “Connect with Jetpack” button.

But, sometimes a domain expires with a self-hosted WordPress blog and you can’t access it no more, or you just want to remove the linked blogs from the global dashboard while you’re here.

Some others have come across this dilemma too, as these search results indicate:

After some intensive searching, found the answer at Disconnect Jetpack Sites, where it says:

You can find step-by-step guides below that will help you remove a self-hosted WordPress site you had previously connected to your WordPress.com account thanks to the Jetpack plugin.

And here’s the answer! Remove an old site that is no longer online from your WordPress.com account. In other words, these are the instructions for how to remove linked blogs from your wordpress.com dashboard.

In case you don’t see the “disconnect site” link on the left-hand side, try selecting that site  (by clicking on blog/site title) & go down under section “Configure” & click on “Settings”. You might see this notification:

screen-shot-2016-12-09-at-9-21-17-am

That’s ok. Then scroll to the bottom of that page and look for this:

screen-shot-2016-12-09-at-9-10-00-am

There it is, click on “DISCONNECT SITE”, confirm, and you’re good.

Aside: There are clear instructions for how to delete a wordpress.com site or blog. But be fully-aware that deleting a site permanently removes it and you’ll never be able to re-use its WordPress.com address (such as yourgroovysite.wordpress.com).

 

Advertisements