How to Delete Contact Lists in Skype

This Skype bug was noticed in September 2015, where Skype users (myself included) could not delete a Contact List, formerly know as Contact Groups, as noted in the Skype Community:

You know you had deleted a Skype contact list the other day, but when you signed in to Skype, the list was there again. What happened?

The solution was found in a thread, How to delete Skype lists that were originally Messenger Groups? that called these Skype contact lists “zombie lists” and here’s the steps involved to permanently deleting these contact lists:

  1. Go to People app website <people.live.com> and sign in to your Microsoft account (same account that you use for Skype).
  2. Make sure you are signed in to Skype Desktop as well.
  3. In the People site, on the left side, find each Skype list (Messenger group; hereafter called “group”) you want to remove.
    • For ease of searching, try disabling some of the contact types (such as Outlook, Skype, Messenger) in the Settings menu until only the groups you want to remove are mostly shown. The menu appears when you click the gear icon near your name on top right.
  4. Click on the group, so the contacts (if any) are listed on right.
  5. Click on Delete in the top bar, then click on Delete in the popup to confirm.screenshot showing how to delete contact list (group) in People app
    • Note that the deleted group may still appear in the left list – this is a bug of People app. If you reload the site, it will go away.
  6. Go to Skype Desktop’s Contacts pane, and open the group.
  7. Click on the Delete icon near the group name, and click Delete button to confirm.
    screenshot showing how to delete contact list (group) in Skype desktop
  8. Repeat the two delete actions (steps 3 to 7) for each group you want to remove.
Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s