What can you do when an iPad 2 keeps on crashing

Having an Apple iPad 2 from a few years back, it gets its share of occasional iOS updates automatically suggested and recommended by Apple every few months or so. 

The last update I made was to iOS 8.3, even though it keeps reminding me that version 9.1 is available. And I can’t figure out how to tell it to stop notifying me and that I don’t want to upgrade, for fear of slowing down the iPad even more. and I don’t know when it happened exactly, but this iPad 2 on iOS 8.x became slower and slower, with almost every app crashing and unexpectedly exiting. When the web browsers, both Safari and Chrome, after looking at just one web page, that was the last straw. This iPad 2 was unusable! 
I connected the iPad 2 to iTunes and thought I could restore an old backup from 2013, but after restoring ran for like 10 minutes, it errored out. Did more research, and found out Apple doesn’t allow downgrades, so the old backup wasn’t going to get me back to iOS 7 that used to work well on this iPad 2.

Screen Shot 2015-10-26 at 9.04.57 PM

With nothing to lose, clicked on the Restore iPad button, and let the iOS 9.1 update go ahead, and then did a factory reset.

That turned out to be the answer to making this old iPad 2 useable again! Even though iOS 8.x made everything bad and slow, and eventually to a grinding halt, this clean install of iOS 9.1 on this old iPad 2 is working well! In fact, writing this blog post on it. Thought I’d share this good news, and save some others from pulling their hair out from frustration.

Other references:

http://www.disruptivetelephony.com/2015/09/update-will-ios-9-make-my-ipad2-usable-again-reports-after-the-upgrade.html

http://www.disruptivetelephony.com/2015/06/will-ios-9-make-my-ipad2-usable-again.html

Leave a Reply

