Computer Manufacturers’ Discounts for Adjunct Faculty | Adjunct Advocate

It is a little known fact that adjunct faculty qualify for computer manufacturer software and hardware discounts. Liz Keefe, an adjunct instructor at Southern Connecticut State University in New Haven, had no idea that she could get a discount directly from a manufacturer. “I’d love to get a discounted computer,” says Keefe. “I need one badly. . . . I haven’t checked into it where I teach, but I kind of doubt [that I would receive a discount].” Clare Horn, an adjunct at Emerson College in Boston, was also unfamiliar with this money-saving perk. “I’m in the market to buy a new computer, and didn’t even consider that I might be able to get a discount,” Horn declares. “I was hoping to buy a Mac. Is Apple one of the ones that offers the discount?” Despite their relative obscurity, discounts for adjuncts do exist. And yes, Apple is one of several big-name computer manufacturers that offer special pricing to part-time faculty.

via Computer Manufacturers’ Discounts for Adjunct Faculty | Adjunct Advocate.

Leave a Reply

